Rihanna, Nicki Minaj lead American Music Award nods

By Gerrick D. Kennedy

Nominations for the 40th American Music Awards were announced Tuesday morning. Nicki Minaj and Rihanna dominate with four nods apiece, while Drake, Justin Bieber, Maroon 5, One Direction and Usher follow with three.

Carly Rae Jepsen and One Direction will battle for new artist of the year, along with J. Cole, fun. and Gotye.

Bieber, Drake, Maroon 5, Katy Perry and Rihanna will vie for artist of the year.

The AMAs are also venturing into the electronic dance music arena with a new EDM category, which – like most of the genre categories – feature just three nominees. David Guetta, Calvin Harris and Skrillex will compete in the field.

This year’s big Grammy winner Adele, whose chart reign has bled into this award’s season, is only up for one trophy: favorite adult contemporary, an award she took home last year after losing artist of the year to Taylor Swift.

Christina Aguilera, who announced the nods Tuesday morning in L.A., is also the first performer announced for the telecast, which will air live on ABC from the Nokia Theatre on Nov. 18.

For the sixth year, winners will be determined by online voting which started yesterday. You can vote online at https://vote.abc.go.com/shows/american-music-awards/vote.