Concealed carry do’s, don’ts
This illustration demonstrates all the places on a person’s body where he or she can carry a concealed weapon according to Texas law.
Photo Illustration by Matt Hellman
Locations you may carry:
- On the person’s own premises
- Inside a person’s motor vehicle or watercraft
- Any other place that is not specifically stated against in the Texas Concealed Handgun Law pamphlet.
Locations you may NOT carry:
- On the physical premises of a school or educational institution, any grounds or building on which an activity sponsored by a school or educational institution is being conducted, or a passenger transportation vehicle of a school or educational institution, whether the school or educational institution is public or private, unless pursuant to written regulations or written authorization of the institution.
- On the premises of a polling place on the day of an election or while early voting is in progress.
- On the premises of any government court or offices utilized by the court, unless pursuant to written regulations or written authorization of the court.
- On the premises of a racetrack.
- In or into a secured area of an airport.
- Within 1,000 feet of premises of a death sentence area.
- In a correctional facility.
- In a hospital unless they have written authorization of the hospital.
- In an amusement park.
- In a church, synagogue, or other established place of religious worship.
- Any business/residence that has proper signage that concealed carry is not allowed.
Requirements to get license:
- An original (first-time) CHL applicant must complete a minimum 10-hour class, taught by a DPS certified CHL instructor. The class includes classroom and a proficiency demonstration (shooting).
- Legal resident of state for 6 months prior to date of application.
- Is at least 21 years of age, unless a member or veteran of the United States armed forces or National Guard.
- Has not been convicted of a felony.
- Is not charged with any Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense.
- Is not a fugitive from justice.
- Is not a chemically dependent person.
- Is capable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun.
- Is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun.
- Is not currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order.
- Cannot be a member of a criminal street gang and/or engaged in any other criminal activity.
Examination for license:
- A total of 50 rounds are fired during the course of the qualification test. A score of 70%, or 175 points of a possible 250, is required to pass. The target used is a B-27, which is a human-shaped silhouette target measuring 45 by 24 inches.
- A written examination with multiple choice and true/false questions.
All information provided by www.txdps.state.tx.us